The Nominations Process, 2019 Nominators & more

Declan Welsh & The Decadent West winning Best Rock/Alternative in 2018.

Declan Welsh & The Decadent West winning Best Rock/Alternative in 2018.

With the awards fastly approaching on Friday 25th October here’s a run down of how the awards work, who identifies the nominees, when you can vote for your favourite artists and more.


Celebrating TEN years, the SAMA’s are looking for an outstanding shortlist of four artists in the award who are deserving of the award. We expect the artists to have excellent songwriting, creativity, hard working value, desire to perform and professionally work in the music business. 

Criteria per award:

  • Act must be aged 16 or over and based in Scotland.

  • The act must be formed for longer than 6 months and have music made available to the general public (whether in physical or digital form) within the last year, between August 2018-19.

  • The act must also be appropriate for the specific category they are being nominated for.

  • The act should have ambition and drive to grow in the music business.

The nominators for 2019 are:

Best Rock/Alternative sponsored by Beezer

Johnny Madden - Club Sabbath 

Nadine Walker - Tenement TV

Martin Low - Discovery Music 

Best Hip Hop sponsored by Help Musicians Scotland

Alana Hepburn - Boomtown Festival

Donna Boyd - Homegrownisalwaysbest

Jonathan Rimmer - Hip Hop Scotland

Best Live Act sponsored by Musicians Union

Selina McLean - PCL Presents 

Tallah Brash - The Skinny 

Ross Calder - Tunnels  Aberdeen

Best Electronic sponsored by CitizenM Hotels

Claire Francis - Mixmag / Freelance Writer

Mark McKenzie - Promoter / Artist

Bonzai Bonner - Artist / DJ / Promoter

Best Newcomer sponsored by The Academy Of Music & Sound

Alex Sharples - 432 Presents 

Craig Gornall - Alive & Amplified 

Arusa Quareshi - The List 

Best Metal sponsored by Hard Rock Cafe Glasgow

Harris Douglas - HD Music / Promoter 

Jonathan Almond - Triple G

Pit Troll 

Best Acoustic sponsored by BTO BeCreative

Alistair Braidwood - Scots Whay Hae!

Gill Maxwell - Scottish Music Centre

Julia Rodriguez Caro - EmuBands


SAMAs Admin