After taking a short break in December, the monthly roundup is BACK!

So here are 10 tracks Scottish releases that have been getting the SAMA’s team through January!

Save the playlist, turn it up, and enjoy!

Acrylic - I’ve Got Too Many Friends

Andreas’ brooding vocal paves the way for serenity amongst an otherwise turbulent situation, upon a dreamy instrumental soundscape the five-piece realise some things are perhaps too good to be true, a thoughtful offering from the Glasgow band packed with overwhelming heart.

Attic Lights - Louis

Celebrating new life amid this new year, comes a charming offering from the Glasgow four-piece, packed with an undeniably catchy chorus line and glistening guitar parts, a feel good track to beat those January blues! New album “Love in the Time of Shark Attacks” is out 25th January.

Broken Chanter - Wholesale

Taken from their upcoming LP, Wholesale is equal measures sincere in word and wildly melodic with its electric styling stark against silk vocal tones. With a full length release on the horizon, sold out shows, and Kid Canaverel’s David MacGregor at the helm, a rollercoaster of emotions is guaranteed! Listen here.

C Duncan - Impossible

The multi-instrumentalist returns with the harmonious vibrancy of Impossible taken from his third record due for release on FatCat Records in March. The vulnerability behind the lyrics, of which chart the difficulties of a long distance relationship, are masked by a layered funk-driven beat and ethereal vocal styling. Catch C Duncan an the upcoming SAMA’s Paisley Takeover this March, more information here.

Charlotte Black - Los Angeles

Los Angeles see’s Charlotte dream of an escape to bright lights, which seems all too relatable backed against Scottish January gloom. Pop stylings against a calming vocal make this a match made in heaven.

CRYSTAL - Sex Rich

After breaking out in 2018 with their brand of scuzzy indie rock, CRYSTAL are set for even bigger things this year. Having just supported Walt Disco as part of King Tut’s New Year's Revolution, the quarter have dropped this untouchable new track Sex Rich. A furious spark of gritty guitars and empowered vocals, Sex Rich is filled with energy.

Heavy Rapids - Going Down

Delivering fans another kick of punk rock, Glasgow four-piece Heavy Rapids ignite Going Down with a demand of attention. With a track that sits under 3 minutes long, the band manage to pack their new single with such visceral energy. Catch them headlining Sneaky Pete’s with Public Practise on February 2nd.

Nova Scotia the Truth - Mortal Girl (feat. Theta)

DJ, Producer and rapper Nova Scotia the Truth brings harsh samples to a solid beat in Mortal Girl. Her flow weaves through the beat as she spits words to rile and spite. Featuring vocalist Theta on the hook, the track culminates in a string section to bring it to an end. With production coming from Demonize on this track, her new EP Risin’ Up will also feature production from Mumbla.

The Twilight Sad - The Arbor

The long awaited follow-up to Nobody Wants to Be Here And Nobody Wants To Leave, The Twilight Sad have returned with some of their best material to date. The Arbor features a daunting bass line, laying under the the sparkling guitar and James Graham’s impassioned vocals. Bringing in a new era for the band, one that sees them selling out Glasgow’s Barrowlands and supporting The Cure at Bellahouston Park, this band will mean everything in 2019.

VanIves - Pyramids

A dense wash of synths that you can slow dance to is what Vanlves bring to the table with new single ‘Pyramids’. As heartbreaking as they are soulful singer Stuart Ramage’s vocals are cushioned by the laid back drum beat that holds the song down. Creating such stunning soundscapes throughout this new single, the duo evoke so many emotions. VanIves launch their new EP ‘Let The Current Find Us’ with a show at Glasgow’s CCA.

You can submit new music to Team SAMA’s by sending links to music to

Follow SAMA’s online @OfficialSAMA

Get SAMA’s Paisley Takeover Festival tickets here.

SAMAs Admin